Double Feature:

Volume Five & Foggy Hogtown Boys

This is the last of our four-part series featuring music from the 2016 Kluane Mountain Bluegrass Festival in Haines Junction, Yukon. Since 2003, this sell-out festival has presented amazing music from a variety of the finest artists in bluegrass including “John Reischman” and the “Jaybirds,” “Balsam Range,” and “Down to The Wood”. We were fortunate again this year to record their outstanding performances, and bring them to you, our listeners.

This segment of our program features two bands, “Volume Five” from the American South, and the “Foggy Hogtown Boys” from Toronto, Canada.

Volume Five 

Volume Five

Volume Five” Band leader, Glen Harrell, established his five-member band in 2008. Since then the band has been a trail blazer on the bluegrass scene, pleasing their audiences with beautiful songs, soulful singing, dead-on harmonies and precision picking. “Volume Five’s” abilities to smoothly blend a contemporary feel with traditional material renders a distinctive, high-quality listening experience.

Volume Five are: Glen Harrell (fiddle & vocals), Chris Williamson (upright bass & vocals), Patton Wages (banjo/guitar & vocals), Colby Laney (Guitar) and Harry Clark (Mandolin).

We recorded their live performances on June 11th and 12th, 2016.

Foggy Hogtown Boys

Foggy Hogtown Boys

Since 2001, the “Foggy Hogtown Boys” have been delighting bluegrass fans across North America and around the world. What started as a weekly bar gig among friends, has grown into one of Canada’s most popular roots-music acts. The band has released five albums.

The “Foggy Hogtown Boys” includes Andrew Collins (mandolin). Chris Coole (guitar and banjo), Max Heineman (bass), Chris Quinn (banjo and guitar) and John Showman (fiddle).

We recorded their live performances on June 11th and 13th, 2016.

We would like to thank the Yukon Bluegrass Music Society for all their support.