Sitka Holiday Brass – 2017

In this Holiday special we feature music from the annual 2017 Holiday Brass concert in Sitka, Alaska. Members of symphony orchestras from across the US and Canada were joining local musicians for this festive event. The 13 member ensemble performed a variety of classical and traditional music as well as holiday favourites before live audience at the Sitka Performing Arts Centre.

Band members:

Ross Venneberg, born and raised in Sitka, is a second-year Doctor of Musical Arts candidate at the University of Washington, studying trumpet.

Gordon Wolfe, trombone, has been a member of the Toronto Symphony Orchestra since 2001, becoming Principal Trombone in 2006.

Scott Macomber, trumpet, has served as Acting 2nd Trumpet of the San Francisco Opera Orchestra since August of 2016.

Roger Schmidt, trombone, is the executive director of Alaska Arts Southeast, Inc. dba Sitka Fine Arts Camp.

Daryl Johnson, tuba, member of the Louisville Orchestra since 2001, earned a Professional Studies Certificate from The Juilliard School.

George Jones, trombone, owes his love and dedication to music to his school music teachers and Sitka Fine Arts Camp.

Ed Littlefield, percussion, attended the University of Idaho where he majored in instrumental and vocal music education with an emphasis in percussion,

Mark Grisez, trumpet, originally from Fresno, CA, is a Trumpet Fellow at the New World Symphony.

Rhiannon Guevin, soprano, graduated summa cum laude from University of Puget Sound’s School of Music, where she received a BM in Vocal Performance with Honours in Music.

Brad Hogarth, trumpet, has performed extensively throughout North America, Europe, and Japan. Equally comfortable performing as a trumpeter and conductor, he is Assistant Professor of Wind Ensemble and Conducting at San Francisco State University.

Paul Cox, percussion, is currently Dean of Creative Arts at Cuyahoga Community College in Cleveland, Ohio.

Wade Demmert, bass trombone, born and raised in Sitka.

Vanessa Fralick, trombone, is the Associate Principal of the Toronto Symphony,